Person athletes honored at annual Rocket Club awards banquet


The best athletes from a stellar year of athletics were honored Thursday at the annual Rocket Club Awards banquet at Palace Pointe.

More than three dozen athletes left with plaques, including three-time award winner Hailey Long. The senior standout on the Rockets’ volleyball team that won the Mid-State Conference tournament championship took home The Courier-Times Female Media Athlete of the Year Award, Rotary Club Best All-Around and Nu-Way Cleaners Most Outstanding Volleyball Player. Long was a four-year varsity player for the Rockets and was selected as the Mid-State’s Most Outstanding Player.

Cameron Brown won The Courier-Times Male Media Athlete of the Year. Brown helped the Rockets surge to a second-place finish in the conference and a playoff berth and was named the Mid-State’s Most Outstanding Player.

Senior Magen Elliott won three awards, the Rocket Club’s Most Outstanding in Track Event and Most Outstanding in Cross Country, as well as the Logan B. Denton Memorial Award for Female Most Devoted to Athletics award.

Baseball player Jacob Vaughn was the recipient of the Sign Graphics/R&S Sporting Goods Commitment to Excellence in Baseball award and the Community Pharmacy Out of Season Dedication to Athletics award.

Two-sport athlete Luke Clayton won the Rotary Club Best All-Around award and the Coca-Cola Company Golden Helmet award.

Rocket soccer standout Abby Mayer took home the George Wirtz Memorial Award for Excellence in Athletics and the Roxboro Optimist Club’s Most Outstanding Soccer Player award.

Nathan Phillips was the recipient of the Pepsi-Cola Company Most Outstanding in Scholastics award as well as the Rocket Club Commitment to Excellence in Basketball award.

Three-sport athlete Logan Bates was the winner of the Donny Rogers Memorial Award for Devotion to Track and the Rocket Club Most Outstanding in Cross Country award.

Other athletes to win awards include: Olivia Kafer (Nu-Way Cleaners Most Outstanding in Scholastics), Kevin Ale (J.W. Green Sportsmanship Award), Delaine Phelps (J.W. Green Sportsmanship Award), Ericia Jay (Palace Pointe Excellence in Cheerleading), Jazmin Ibarra (Roxboro Jaycees Most Outstanding Tennis Player), Kenley Hazel (Rocket Club Most Dedicated in Tennis), Jobie Fie (Roxboro Jaycees Most Outstanding in Tennis), Nathan Reed (Rocket Club Most Dedicated in Tennis), Nydriya Marner (Roxboro Savings Bank Most Outstanding Basketball Player), Devaun Nelson (Kiwanis Club Most Outstanding Basketball Player), Brianna Ramsey (Rocket Club Most Outstanding in Field Events), Zion Hughes (Rocket Club Most Outstanding in Track Events), Tyler Blackwell (Rocket Club Most Outstanding in Field Events), Alex Chapman (Rocket Club Most Dedicated to Soccer), Francisco Mondragon (Rocket Club Most Outstanding Soccer Player), Ethan Jones (Dr. Robert G. Fitzgerald Memorial Award Most Dedicated to Soccer), Lillie Davis (The Roxboro Women’s Club Most Outstanding Softball Player), Payten Pearsall (Claude E. Wilbourne Award Most Dedicated to Softball), Austin C. Oakley (Bubba Garrett Memorial Award Most Outstanding Baseball Player), Cayden Goodwin (In Honor of Tracy Barker Baseball Hustle Award), Dre Newman (Rotary Club Most Outstanding Football Player), Joshua Harris (Coca-Cola Company Golden Helmet Award), Pamela Hill (The Rocket Booster Chantel Hobbs Memorial Volleyball Award), Sarah Boone (Grissom & Holloman Volleyball Defensive Specialist), Preston Tingen (Marvin Long Memorial Golf Award), Morgan Talley (Rocket Club Most Dedicated Golf Player), Haley Hawkins (Rocket Club Most Dedicated Golf Player), Diego Jimenez (WRXO-WKRX Most Outstanding Wrestler), Justin Breeze (Stephen O’Briant Memorial Award Commitment to Wrestling), Paige Mangum (Best Teammate Award).


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment