Piedmont Community College will offer a handgun safety course on Saturday, March 23. The 8-hour class will be held from 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. and fulfills the course requirement for obtaining a concealed carry handgun permit.
Since 1995, N.C. residents have had the right to carry concealed weapons, if they complete the handgun safety training program. The course will cover laws concerning the use of deadly force, laws governing areas concealed weapons may be carried, and rules and ideas for gun safety.
Lynn Ward, an instructor at PCC with more than 20 years experience, will oversee the course. Ward received basic firearms instructor training through the NRA and his concealed carry instructor training from the North Carolina Justice Academy.
In order for residents to be eligible to obtain a concealed carry permit, they need to first take this required class, and then apply for their permit through their local sheriff’s department. The other major requirements are that the applicant must be a U.S. citizen and a resident of the state of North Carolina for at least 30 days; be at least 21 years of age; not be under indictment; and not have a felony record, a violent misdemeanor, or an impaired driving offense in the last three years.
The registration fee of $75 must be paid prior to the course start date and is required to reserve a seat.
To enroll or for more information about PCC’s handgun safety course, call PCC’s workforce development team at 336-322-2156.